Paul Eluard: “Ecstasy”

Ecstasy

I stand before this feminine landscape
Like a child before the fire
Smiling vaguely with tears in my eyes
Before this landscape where everything stirs in me
Where mirrors become fog where mirrors become light
Reflecting two naked bodies season against season

I have so many reasons to lose myself
In this land without roads beneath this sky without horizon
Beautiful reasons I didn’t know yesterday
Beautiful reasons I’ll never forget
Beautiful keys of glimpses keys of their own daughters
Before this land where nature is mine
Before the fire the first fire
Kind mistress reason
Identified star
And on earth beneath sky in and out of my heart
Second bud first green leaf
That the sea covers with its wings
And the sun at last returning to us

I stand before this feminine landscape
Like a branch in the fire.

Paul Eluard

Translated from French by Paul Weinfield, © 2016
Photo by Carl Warner
Leave a Reply

