Roberto Bolaño: “I Will Gift to You an Abyss”

I Will Gift to You an Abyss

I will gift to you an abyss, she said,
but I will give it so subtly that you will only
perceive it when many years have passed
and you are far from Mexico and from me.
When you need it most you will find it,
but it will not be
a happy ending,
just a tender moment of emptiness.
And maybe you will think of me then,
if only for a while.

Roberto Bolaño

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2016

Photo by Brooke Shaden

Leave a Reply

