Dulce María Loynaz: “Ballad of Late Love”

Ballad of Late Love

Love who came so late,
at least bring me peace.
Evening love, did you stray
on the way to my solitude?

Love who sought me unsought,
I don’t know which are worth more:
the words that you give me
or the words I still won’t say.

Love, are you cold? I’m the moon:
white death and truth in the distance.
Please don’t bring me fresh roses.
I’m too serious for roses. Bring me the sea.

Love who came so late, you never saw
me singing in the cornfields yesterday.
Love of so much silence and weariness,
please don’t bring me any tears today.

Dulce María Loynaz

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, ©2016
Photo by Marina Coric
Leave a Reply

