Rainer Maria Rilke: “I Believe In Everything Still Unsaid”

I Believe In Everything Still Unsaid

I believe in everything still unsaid.
I wish I could set my devotion free
and dare to dream new dreams instead,
and to live, in time, spontaneously.

Forgive me, Lord, if my pride is undue,
but I want to say this to you here:
In the force of my desire, there I am most true,
when, free from anger or worry or fear,
I love you purely, as children do.

In being flooded and then stripped bare
by the wide arms of an open sea
(that circles back increasingly)
I am learning to praise you, learning to declare
your glory to a new degree.

And if that is arrogance, it is mine to own,
but let it be to make these vows,
that standing here, uncomplicated and alone,
I might glimpse your face between the clouds.

Rainer Maria Rilke

Translated from German by Paul Weinfield, © 2016
Leave a Reply

