Julio Cortázar: “Love Letter”

Love Letter

Everything I’d ever want from you
is so little in the end
because in the end it’s everything

like a passing dog or the side of a hill,
the insignificant, everyday things,
a stalk, a hair, two lumps of sugar,
the scent of your body,
whatever you say about anything,
whether with me or against me,

everything that is so little
I want from you
because I love you.

May you look beyond me,
may you love me with violent disregard
for tomorrow, may the cries
of your passion explode
in some boss’s face
in an office somewhere

and let the pleasure we invent together
be another sign of freedom.

Julio Cortázar

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2015
Leave a Reply

