Gabriela Mistral: “Richness”

Richness

I have known a faithful bliss
and a bliss that slipped away:
one was like a rose,
the other like a thorn.
But I was not deprived
of what was stolen from me;
for I have known a faithful bliss
and a bliss that slipped away,
and I am rich with richest purple
and all my melancholy.
O what a lover the rose has been!
And what a lover, the thorn!
Like the double outline
of two twin fruits.
I have known a faithful bliss
and a bliss that slipped away.

Gabriela Mistral

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2015
Photo by Edward Steichen
Leave a Reply

