Octavio Paz: “Axis”

Axis

Through aqueducts of blood
my body in your body
fountain of night
my solar tongue inside your forest
your body a bowl for making bread
I red wheat

Through aqueducts of bone
I night I water
I the creeping forest
I tongue
I body
I bone of sun

Through aqueducts of night
fountain of bodies
You night of wheat
you forest in the sun
you waiting water
you basin of bones

Through aqueducts of sun
my night inside your night
my sun inside your sun
my wheat inside your bowl
your forest in my tongue

Through aqueducts of body
water in the night
your body in my body

Fountain of bones

Fountain of suns

Octavio Paz

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield © 2015
Leave a Reply

