Charles Baudelaire: “I Love You As Much As the Vaulting Night Sky”

I Love You As Much As the Vaulting Night Sky

I love you as much as the vaulting night sky.
You are a vessel of sorrow, impenetrable and sly.
I love you all the more when you slip from my sight
and then reappear, rare jewel of the night,
with cruel irony, just to multiply the space
between the infinite blue and my pitiful embrace.

I advance to attack, I climb to make gains,
like a maggot-swarm crawling across human remains.
And still I cherish, O cruel and implacable beast,
the coldness by which your beauty is only increased.

Charles Baudelaire

Translated from French by Paul Weinfield, © 2015
Leave a Reply

