Federico Garcia Lorca: “Qasida of the Dark Doves”

Qasida of the Dark Doves

Through the laurel branches
I spied two dark doves.
One was the sun,
the other the moon.

“Little neighbors,” I said.
“Where is my grave?”
“In my tail,” said the sun.
“In my throat,” said the moon.

And I who was walking
with the world wrapped around me,
saw two eagles made of snow
and a girl stripped naked.
One of them was the other,
and the girl was neither.

“Little eagles,” I said.
“Where is my grave?”
“In my tail,” said the sun.
“In my throat,” said the moon.

Through the laurel branches,
I spied two naked doves.
The one was the other,
and both were neither.

Federico Garcia Lorca

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2014
Leave a Reply

