Forough Farrokhzad: “The Story of Love”

The Story of Love

Love is a magic trick made out of two glances
I don’t know
Or maybe it’s the story of a single sin
I don’t know
I don’t know

Love is the hunger of a pair of hearts
I don’t know
Or maybe just a fair-weather friend
I don’t know
I don’t know

O love, wherever you are,
I am the servant watching over your doorway
until there is only one step left till death
I don’t know
I don’t know

Love is a question without an answer,
or maybe the influence of a cup of wine
Its sign in our breasts is itself a requital
or else maybe nothing but a bubble on the water
I don’t know
I don’t know

I search for love on every forehead bent to touch the earth
I search for love on the bleak faces of lovers
in the tear-stained eyes of drunks in filthy places
on the immaculate hands and hearts of preachers

O sweet love, wherever you are
I am the servant watching over your doorway
until there is only one step left till death
I am your priestess

Forough Farrokhzad

Translated from Persian by Paul Weinfield, © 2014
Leave a Reply

