Antonio Machado: “Last Night While I Was Dreaming”

Last Night While I Was Dreaming

Last night while I was dreaming,
this sweet lie tore me apart:
I dreamed a spring was streaming
from the center of my heart.

I said, “What is this river
that flows in secret to me alone?
Has it come here to deliver
a life I’ve not yet known?”

Last night while I was dreaming,
this sweet lie tore me apart:
a hive of bees was teeming
at the center of my heart.

The bees built a gold-white city
with brilliance and completeness.
They took my old self-pity
and changed it into sweetness.

Last night while I was dreaming,
this sweet lie tore me apart:
a fiery sun was gleaming
at the center of my heart.

It was fiery and just as bright
as a bonfire burning high.
And it was the sun, for it gave light
and brought teardrops to my eye.

Last night while I was dreaming,
this sweet lie tore me apart:
God Himself was redeeming
the very center of my heart.

Antonio Machado

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2013
Leave a Reply

