Octavio Paz: “Across”

Across

I turn the page of the day,
writing what I am told
by the movement of your eyelashes.

**

My hands
draw open the curtains of your being
They clothe you in another nudity
They uncover the bodies of your body
My hands
invent another body for your body

**

I enter you,
truthfulness of darkness.
I want evidence of darkness.
I want to drink black wine:
Take my eyes and crush them.

**

A drop of night
on the tip of your breasts:
mysteries of the carnation.

**

When I close my eyes,
they open inside yours.

**

On its garnet bed,
your tongue awaits,
ever wakeful and wet.

**

There are fountains
in the garden of your veins.

**

And with a mask of blood
I cross your thoughts blankly:
Amnesia guides me
to the far side of life.

Octavio Paz

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2013
Leave a Reply

