Jules Supervielle: “I Dream of You”

I Dream of You

I dream of you far.  I dream of you near.
You’re the same either way, singular and precise.
You change to soft music in the depths of my eyes.
As though, through a glance, I could see through my ear.

You see, you’re inside me as much as outside,
as you offer up your heart-song, open and wide.
And hidden in my temples, it’s your pounding I hear,
as you flow into me and then slowly disappear.

Jules Supervielle

Translated from French by Paul Weinfield, © 2013
One response to “Jules Supervielle: “I Dream of You”

Leave a Reply

