Paul Verlaine: “Tears Fall In My Heart”

Tears Fall In My Heart

Tears fall in my heart
As rain falls on the city.
The stillness is like a dart
That penetrates my heart.

O gentle roar of rain
On earth and over rooftops!
For a heart that’s full of pain,
O the gentle sound of rain!

My tears fall without reason
In a heart that’s slowly breaking.
But why?  There’s been no treason
My aching has no reason.

This is the heaviest weight:
Not to know just how or why
In the absence of love or hate
The heart must bear such weight.

Paul Verlaine

Translated from French by Paul Weinfield, ©2013
One response to “Paul Verlaine: “Tears Fall In My Heart”

Leave a Reply

