Pablo Neruda: “Don’t Be Far From Me”

Don’t Be Far From Me

Don’t be far from me, not even for a day,
because (how can I say it?) a day is long,
and I’ll be left waiting, as in a station,
for trains that sleep somewhere else.

Don’t go, not even for an hour, because
the drops of my pain will all run together
and the smoke that seeks its source will come
to smother this confused heart of mine.

May your shadow never fade into sand.
May your eyelids never flutter into distance:
don’t go, my love, not even for a minute,

because in that minute, you will have gone so far,
and I’ll have to cross the whole world, asking,
Are you coming back, or will you leave me here to die?

— Pablo Neruda

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2013
Leave a Reply

