Jorge Luis Borges: “Suicide”

Suicide

No star will last in the night.
The night itself will not last.
I will die and with me the sum
of this unbearable universe.
I will blot out the pyramids, the coins,
the continents, the faces.
I will blot out the accretion of the past.
I will make dust of history, dust of dust.
I am looking at the final sunset.
I am listening to the final bird.
I bequeath nothing to no one.

Jorge Luis Borges

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2013
Leave a Reply

