Federico García Lorca: “Ghazal of Sudden Love”

Ghazal of Sudden Love

No one understood the perfume
of the dark magnolia of your womb.
No one knew you tortured
a hummingbird of love between your teeth.

A thousand Persian horses slept
in the little square beneath the moon of your forehead,
while for four nights I embraced
your waist, enemy of the snow.

Between gypsum and jasmine, your glance
was a pale branch full of seeds.
In my heart, I sought to give you
the ivory letters that spell, “always.”

Always, always: garden of my agony,
your body elusive always,
the blood of your veins in my mouth,
your mouth already darkened for my death.

Federico García Lorca

Translated from Spanish by Paul Weinfield, © 2013
Leave a Reply

